With this program the Ensemble Rayuela brings the public through an imaginary revocationof and fantastic landscapes. Since the first chords of the Ouverture of the “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”, the auditor gets catapulted into the world of William Shakespeare’s famous comedy; as it unfolds in the pages of the English writer, in Mendelssohn’s music we also see the richness of humanity and fantastic characters, the complex plot and the subtle line between dreams and reality.

Oscillating between dreams and reality, the Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in E minor Op. 44 no. 2 creates a link between “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” and “Peer Gynt Suite 1 op. 46”, poetry by Norwegian Henrik Ibsen transformed into music by Edvard Grieg. Each movement of the Suite offers a beautiful postcard of the extraordinary world of the anti-hero Peer who dedicates his whole life to the hedonist pursuit of happiness.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809- 1847)
Ouverture from “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”
(arrangement by Raphaël Jousse)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809- 1847)
String quartet in E Minor op.44 n.2
(arrangement by David Walter)

Edvard Hagerup Grieg (1843 -1907)
Peer Gynt suite 1 op.46
(arrangement by Victor Ouzounoff)

Marelle fantastique